Just over a quarter of a century after the town’s founding, Zanesville was blessed with a hotel on North Fourth Street. According to local historian Norris F. Schneider, in a Times Recorder article dated 5-5-1974, “In 1823 the Frazey Hotel on North Fourth Street entertained stagecoach travelers. (Later) Enlarged and remodeled as the Kirk House, the old hostelry accommodated railroad passengers.”
Interestingly, in 1827 Samuel Frazey acquired a farm on the Ohio Canal in a trade for his hotel. The town he laid out was named for himself – Frazeysburg.
Later owners called the hotel the Randolph House, Russell House