By Harry Enoch/Contributor The Rees House was located at the southwest corner of Main Street and Lexington Avenue in Winchester.
This could well be called “Hotel Corner,” as some form of hostelry stood here from early times. Peter Flanagan purchased original town lot No. 67 in 1801 and built a large log house where he established one of Winchester’s first taverns.
In 1814, Hay Taliaferro had acquired the property and opened the Winchester Hotel. Taliaferro announced in the Winchester Advertiser that he had “commenced keeping Tavern in the house formerly owned by Edmund Calloway.
This House is well situated, large